That’s The Thanks I Get

First and foremost, I apologize for the delay; my silence was the product of a heavy work schedule, not lack of commitment. So, the plan, as it stands now, is to forget about my hiatus and jump right back into the groove.

As some of you may know, the Thank You Project’s URL was inspired by Wilco’s track “The Thanks I Get,” which is a song about love, loss and everything in between.

While the song doesn’t quite capture the founding sentiment of the Thank You Project, it does pay homage to a band that I am deeply grateful for (and it helped fill the naming void since “thethankyouproject.wordpress.com” was taken. But that’s neither here nor there).

Anyway, for years and years, Wilco has been (and continues to be) the single most influential source of artistic inspiration in my life. So, when I crunched the numbers and came to the conclusion that I am just too broke to attend this year’s Solid Sound – a three-day music festival that Wilco curates – I was a little disappointed. In spite of the sting that accompanies a very adult realization that making rent is more important than attending a music festival, I managed to forget about it… until I saw a contest. I wrote a story, sent it along and, against all odds, won. If you’d like to see my submission or any of the other “honorable mentions,” jump on over to the Solid Sound website.

Thank you, Wilco (and Mountain Hardwear!) I can’t tell you how grateful I am, but I’m sure you’ll be able to see it written all over my face in just a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

